(Part 2) Jonas lee interview

Here’s the interview with Jonas Lee , to help you get to know the author a little better, and to persuade you to go out and buy the book!

Q. Who inspires you the most?
A. I find myself inspired by anyone who has been putting out material independently. I think every author would like to find themselves in a major publishing house, but out there with a small firm or as an Indie, I feel their struggle and they inspire me to keep writing even if it comes to the day of not being able to put my books out there.

Q. Do you have anything specific you would like to say to your readers, what’s your message to them?
A. Other than my utmost thanks, I hope my readers know I’m doing this all for them. It’s not for fame or money, I do this to entertain and share my imagination. Starting out alone, I’ve gained a lot of friends and fans along the way and put a lot more of my own time and money into my passion than I’ll get out anytime soon. Above all, I’ve learned more about writing and the business of publishing than I thought I would need… and it’s great!

Q. Have you learned any new things about yourself from writing?
A. I’ve had to learn about patience and essentially how to become a better writer. Patience because I think that as a new author, I’d start gaining momentum instantly. I wonder how many people like me thought that? It takes a few weeks to burn through the kindling of family and supportive friends, it takes months past that to start gaining new followers who actually enjoy my writing. I think the more I read and write, the better I become. I’m only on my second published book, but I enjoyed writing it more than the first.

Q. Do you see yourself as a role model that people look up to and admire?
A. I don’t see myself as a role model, at least not yet. I save those monikers for people who pursue great things through adversity, selflessly. Me, I’m a guy who loves writing and sharing my passion. If I ever get popular enough I hope I can strive to be the kind of writer others can look up to.

Q. Have you ever had writer’s block? If so, how did you get rid of it?
A. I don’t think any writer has ever not had a case of the block. It’s like getting some piece of debris in your eye. Likewise, it prevents writers from seeing past the annoyance as well. The only way I’ve found to get around it is reading. Reading always relaxes my mind and instead of trying to will the block away, it naturally fades away on its own.

Q. Do you have any strange writing habits?
A. Nothing like a lucky hat or anything unique. I do sometimes talk dialog out to myself, usually while driving around. And for some reason I always find myself doing so with a slight English accent… No. Idea. Why.

Q. What are your plans for the future, what’s your next project?
A. I plan on writing for as long as I have ideas. I hope publishing takes root and I can make it a full time career someday. Currently, I have the third install of Carter Gabel’s adventure to start. I am also constructing the characters and background of a new series set in the future. This new series will revolve around a kingdom headed by four immortals and within the boundaries, different classifications are signified through tattoos. 

Q. What scene in a book do you find the most difficult to write?
A. For me, the final sequence of events is terrible. Mainly that’s because I could write scenarios and other tiddly bits for my characters forever like a soap opera. So, putting an end to their journey is quite stressful.

Q. Do you read your reviews?
A. I read everything so far at this point. The most helpful reviews are the ones that let me know what they liked and maybe didn’t like. I have had a lot of time to grow and develop from the first book to the second book and that is in large part to the reviews I get. 

Q. What’s the one subject you prefer or would never write about?
A. I feel like I could write about anything, I consider it like exercising a group of muscles. My weakest and least favorite to exercise would probably be romance. I enjoy a romantic element to stories, but surrounding a story around it would get tiresome for me. I need magic, I need supernatural and there are many talented authors in that field who are already gladiators.

Happy reading 🙂

inspiredbyabook™ publications

7 thoughts on “(Part 2) Jonas lee interview

Leave a Reply

