Heroin users?

A few weeks ago I went outside my house to find a man collapsed at the side of my mums car, my dad and the nextdoor neighbour helped him up (sat him up) and I proceeded to call an ambulance; thinking maybe he had heat stroke. The ambulance told me to ask if he’d taken anything and it turns out he’d taken herion.

I wrote a status on facebook and alot of people responded negatively, saying things like “they don’t deserve help”, “let the police deal with them”, “you should have just left him there”. I only recieved two positive comments; “you did a good thing **** you should have helped him you dont know what they have been through” and also ” waste of time, waste of space, but well done for been a nice person”.

To say people actually told me to leave him I find disgusting, especially to say I didn’t know what was wrong to start with. If I left him and he had respiratory problems, and maybe died who’d be responsible? I’d have a killer guilty consious.

I don’t agree anyone should leave someone on the floor, on drugs or not. It’s not humane and I don’t know his life story or what caused him to start taking drugs, he could have been abused, abandoned at birth. I don’t agree with people taking drugs for fun, I definitely wouldn’t take them myself, it’s a shame they ruin themselves for the sake of a fix.

What would you do? Leave him or offer help with some respect for humanity?

14 thoughts on “Heroin users?

  1. Of course, you help. I can’t believe anyone said otherwise.
    You find someone passed out beside your car, you call an ambulance. It doesn’t matter why or how they got there.
    You did the right thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You liked one of my posts, leading me here. As a medical student, I’ve seen this attitude so often and its disgusting. Without even trying to understand their situation, people throw together ‘heroin’ with ‘non-human’. You did a good thing, and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. I’ve followed, and would be honoured to hear your thoughts on some of my works on my blog. Keep writing and have a good day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How can people be so cruel saying things like that.May be the guy just wanted a fix or may be he got too many problems in his life but he could have family or friends who cares a lot about him and how bad would they feel if something happens to him.I appreciate you for what you’ve done. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It makes me feel sick to my stomach when people say to leave him. It actually makes me want to cry (I’m a bit passionately emotional). EVERYONE deserves help whether they have respiratory problems or are taking drugs. Its a problem that they can’t help but have. I go by the value that everyone deserves to be shown kindness and help. It’s not right to reject people because they take drugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Everyone deserves some compassion and no one is born to die an addict, but we do have a choice not to start on that downward slope, though life can make that choice a difficult one. I believe you were right to show kindness. I hope I would have tried to do the same thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I find that in that situation, I would be morally obliged to help. Good on you for speaking out about these horrible comments from others. If you can sleep at night know the choice you made is the right one, I think that’s all that matters. x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You did the right and compassionate thing. As you and others have said, you don’t know what had brought the gentleman to the stage where he takes drugs. Also, as a diabetic I could collapse and go into a coma due to my diabetes. This is unlikely as I take my medication. However, if I did collapse I would hate to think that someone might think I was drunk or a drug user and not offer assistance. Basically everyone should be helped. Kevin

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

