Creed: Movie review

Genre: Drama/sport
Running time: 2 hour 13 minutes
Director: Ryan Coogler
Release date: 25 Nov 2015
Synopsis: Adonis Johnson is the son of the famous boxing champion Apollo Creed, who died in a boxing match in Rocky IV (1985). Adonis wasn’t born until after his father’s death and wants to follow his fathers footsteps in boxing. He seeks a mentor who is the former heavyweight boxing champion and former friend of Apollo Creed, the retired Rocky Balboa. Rocky eventually agrees to mentor Adonis. With Rocky’s help they hope to get a title job to face even deadlier opponents than his father.

The first thing I’d like to mention is that whilst I was in the unlimited screening watching Creed, it was an atmosphere I’ve never seen before, and don’t think I’ll ever witness again! The feel and buzz off everyone around was special. Everyone was so in the moment and at the edge of their seats!

Creed was released first in America, and isn’t out in the UK yet, but as a unlimited card holder, I got one of the first UK viewings. Before the film started I was already expecting great things, especially with being a lover of the rocky films.

In all honesty it surpassed my expectations, and blew me away. The way the director created the build up, and how Adonis played his character was truly inspirational. He and rocky made the movie something special. I couldn’t take my eyes off the screen.

Hopefully it does down as a fantastic film, like all the rocky films have! I definitely recommend. And I gave 10/10 stars!

inspiredbyabook

One thought on “Creed: Movie review

Leave a Reply

